AfDB Board Concurs With Independent Panel Absolution Of Adesina

The Bureau of the boards of governors African Development Bank (AfDB) Group, on Wednesday, released the communiqué issued at the end of a meeting saying it concurred with the submission of an independent panel that reviewed the report of its Ethics Committee on the whistleblower complaint against Dr. Akinwunmi Adesina, its President.

The communiqué issued at the end of the bureau’s meeting in Abidjan, Ivory Coast, on Wednesday, noted the conclusion of the independent panel regarding the report of the Ethics Committee – that “the panel concurs with the Committee in its findings in respect of all the allegations against the President and finds that they were properly considered and dismissed by the Committee”.

The high-level panel, chaired by Mrs. Mary Robinson, former President of Ireland (Chair), submitted its Report to Ms Niale Kaba, chairperson of the Bureau on July 27, 2020.

“The secretariat transmitted the Report of the High-Level Panel to all Governors the same day as directed by the chairperson of the Bureau pursuant to the request of the Board of Governors during its virtual Extraordinary Session held on 27 July 2020.”

The bureau said it also noted the panel’s conclusion regarding Adesina’s submission to the Ethics Committee — that “it has considered the President’s submissions on their face and finds them consistent with his innocence and to be persuasive.”

The bureau appreciated all AfDB governors for their support and patience during the entire process aimed at ensuring the integrity of the group and its governance mechanisms.

It equally commended the High-level Panel for its work and for working tirelessly to ensure timely submission of its report.

Other members of the independent panel are Justice Hassan B. Jallow, Chief Justice of the Gambia, and Leonard F. McCarthy, President, LFMcCarthy & Associates.

The panel’s report finally puts an end to the travails of Akinwunimi, the sole candidate for next month’s election which would give him a ticket for his second five year-year term as chief executive of Africa’s biggest multilateral institution.

He was first elected in 2014.

Related Articles

Back to top button