Senate confirms Salisu, Omamegbe, As CBN Monetary Policy C’mittee Members, Renews 5 Others

The Senate, on Wednesday, confirmed the nominations of Professor Mohammed Adaya Salisu and Dr. Mo’ Omamegbe as fresh appointees and renewed the appointments of five others as members of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) Monetary Policy Committee.

The five members of the committee whose appointments were renewed, are Professor Michael Obadan, Prof. Festus Adeola Adenikinju, Prof. Aliyu Sanusi Rafindadi, Dr. Robert Asogwa and Alhaji Aliyu Ahmed.

The confirmation of the nominees, according to a statement by Ezrel Tabiowo, Special Assistant (Press), to President of the Senate, followed the consideration of a report by the Committee on Banking, Insurance and Other Financial Institutions, presented by the Chairman of the Committee, Senator Uba Sani (Kaduna Central).

The confirmation and membership renewal request conveyed by President Muhammadu Buhari, in his letter to the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, dated February 23, 2022, was made pursuant to Section 12(4) of the Central Bank Act, 2007.

Senator Uba Sani, in his presentation, said the nominees possess the requisite academic qualifications, technical knowledge and professional experience to be Members of the Monetary Policy Committee of the Central Bank of Nigeria.

He disclosed that the Senate Committee on Banking did not receive any petition against their nominations, adding that they were all cleared by the Nigeria Police Force, Department of State Services (DSS) and possess the Code of Conduct Acknowledgment Slip.

He stated that one of the nominees, Alhaji Aliyu Ahmed is the Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Finance, Budget and National Planning and will serve as the representative of the Ministry in the committee.

Sign In


Reset Password

Please enter your username or email address, you will receive a link to create a new password via email.