NGSE Appoints Advisory Committees For Derivatives, Equities, Fixed Income, ETFs

As part of achieving its vision of becoming Africa’s preferred multi-asset securities exchange, the Nigerian Stock Exchange (NSE) on Friday appointed Product Advisory Committees comprising experts with local and global financial market footprints for different product lines.

The Product Advisory Committees members are drawn from market operators, regulators and multilateral agencies, including Nigeria’s Debt Management Office, National Pension Commission (PENCOM), Securities Exchange Commission (SEC), International Finance Corporation (IFC), and the African Development Bank (AfDB). The members, whose members will serve for a two-year term, the exchange said in a statement, are to advise on product segments like fixed income, equities, Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs) and derivatives.

For fixed income committee, members are: Mrs. Hajara Adeola – MD/CEO, Lotus Capital Limited (Chairperson); Ms. Patience Oniha – Director-General, DMO; Mrs. Titi Ogungbesan, Chief Executive, Stanbic IBTC Stockbrokers Limited; Oluseye Olusoga, MD, Parthian Partners Limited; Mrs. Nkoli Edoka, MD/CEO, Cowry Securities Limited; Ms. Esohe Denise Odaro, Head, Investor Relations, IFC; Mrs. Iyobosa Sorae, Group Head, Securities Dealing, Coronation Merchant Bank; and Akin Adigun, Senior Investment Officer, AfDB.

Mrs. Hajara Adeola

The equities committee has Wale Agbeyangi, MD, Cordros Capital Limited (Chairperson); Dr. Farouk Aminu, Head, Investment Supervision, PENCOM; Dave Uduanu, CFA,  CEO of Sigma Pensions; Akeem Oyewale, CEO, Stanbic Nominees; Mrs. Lilian Olubi, MD, EFG Hermes Nigeria Limited; Roy Zimmerhansl, Practice Lead, Pierpoint Financial Consulting; Ziv Okun, Head of African Sales, Investec; Thomas Brown, CEO, J. Streicher & Co. L.L.C; and Mrs. Odiri Oginni, CFA, MD, United Capital Asset Managers Limited.


While Cliff Weber, CEO of Financial Products Consulting Group, will chair the ETFs committee, members are: Effiok E. Effiok, Head, Investment Management, SEC; Ms. Debbie Fuhr, Partner, ETFGI; John Adu, Head, Business Development, Europe, the Middle East and Africa (EMEA), JP Morgan Asset Management; Damilola Ajayi, MD, Vetiva Fund Managers Limited; Ms. Helena Conradie, CFA, CEO, Satrix; Shuaib Audu, Executive Director, Stanbic Asset Management Limited; Ms. Nerina Visser, Director & Co-owner, etfSA Portfolio Management Company, South Africa; Akikunmi Majaro, MD, Absa Securities Nigeria Limited; and Deji Tunde-Anjous, MD, AXAMansard Investments.

Derivatives committee has Charlie Rubin, Derivatives Consultant, United States of America (USA) as Chairperson; with Michael Okon, Head of Structuring, West Africa, Rand Merchant Bank (RMB); Mrs. Laura Fisayo-Kolawole, Senior Vice President, FBNQuest Asset Management; Temi Popoola, CEO, Renaissance Capital; Dr. Peter M. Werner, Senior Counsel, International Swaps and Derivatives Association (ISDA), United Kingdom; and Yemi Akisanya, Head of Diversity & Inclusion, OCC, USA; as members.

Speaking on the development, the Chief Executive, NSE, Oscar Onyema, said the Product Advisory Committees would “leverage the vast experience, diverse viewpoints and extensive networks of financial market technocrats to further strengthen and deepen our market.”

He expressed confidence “that the committees will discharge their duties excellently to help us meet the needs of both local and international stakeholders while making The Exchange globally competitive.”

The Exchange, the statement added, recognizes and applauds the efforts of outgoing members of the Committees whose tenure has now come to an end, while looking forward to working with the new members.