Nigerian Senate Confirms Alade, Others AMCON MD, Executive Directors

Caption: From right: Dr. Aminu Mukhtar Dan’amu, Executive Director, Asset Management Corporation of Nigeria (AMCON); Adeshola Lamidi, Executive Director AMCON; Gbenga Alade, Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer AMCON; Senator Tokunbo Abiru, Chairman, Senate Committee on Banking, Insurance, and other Financial Institutions; Senator Abdullahi Gumel, Senior Special Assistant to the President on National Assembly Matters (Senate); and Lucky Adaghe, Executive Director, AMCON, after the screening at the National Assembly, Abuja

The Nigerian Senate, on Tuesday confirmed Gbenga Alade as Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer of the Asset Management Company of Nigeria (AMCON).

Alade, a former Managing Director of Guarantee Trust Bank (UK), replaces Lawan Ahmed Kuru, who was confirmed for a second term of five years by the Senate only in February 2021. Kuru is therefore stepping aside three years into his five-year term

He was  nominated along with three Executive Directors namely Adeshola Lamidi, Lucky Adaghe and Dr Aminu Mukhtar Dan’amu by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

A statement by Jude Nwauzor, Head, Corporate Communications Department of AMCON said the final confirmation at Tuesday’s plenary came after the screening exercise by the Senate Committee on Banking, Insurance, and other Financial Institutions, chaired by Senator Tokunbo Abiru.

Abiru, a former Chief Executive of Polaris Bank, told his colleagues that the nominees were subjected to screening in line with parliamentary rules and were found competent to serve in their various capacities.

He further noted that they all have ‘on the job’ experience, while also complying with the Code of Conduct rules.

Most importantly, Abiru said at the plenary presided over by the Deputy Senate President, Jibrin Barau, no petition was raised in objection to their nomination.

Thereafter, the upper chamber dissolved into the ‘Committee of the Whole’ to consider each nominee based on their merit, after which they were confirmed through voice vote.