Senate Confirms FIRS Board Members, AMCON Chair

  • Approves N140.3bn NCC Budget

The Senate on Wednesday confirmed President Muhammadu Buhari’s nominees for appointment as Chairmen and members of the Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS) and the Asset Management Corporation of Nigeria (AMCON).

The confirmation of the nominees was sequel to the consideration of the reports of the Senate Committees on Finance, and Banking, Insurance, and other Financial Institutions.

Those confirmed for positions on the board of the FIRS are Muhammad Mamman Nami (North Central), Chairman; James Yakwen Ayuba, North Central; Ado Danjuma, North West; Adam Baba Mohammed, North East; Ikeme Osakwe, southeast; Adewale Ogunyomade, South West, and Ehile Adetola Aibangbee, South-South.

Representatives of Ministries, Departments and Agencies of government on the board confirmed by the Senate are Ladidi Bara’atu Mohammed, Office of Attorney-General of the Federation; Godwin Emefiele, Central Bank of Nigeria; Fatima Hayatu, Ministry of Finance; Maagbe Adaa, Revenue Mobilization Allocation and Fiscal Commission; Umar Ajiya, Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation; DCG Isah, Nigeria Customs Service, and Registrar General, Corporate Affairs Commission.

According to a statement by Ezrel Tabiowo, Special Assistant (Press) to President of the Senate, the upper legislative chamber also confirmed the appointment of Edward Lametek Adamu as Chairman of AMCON.

During the session also, a budget of N140.383bn for the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) for the 2020 fiscal year, based on the consideration of the report of the Senate Committee on Communications during plenary.

Chairman of the Communications Committee, Senator Oluremi Tinubu, while giving a breakdown of the Commission’s total expenditure for the year 2020, said that N39.297bn is for recurrent expenditure, while N20.863bn is for special projects.

She added that out of the total budget, the sum of N8.129bn is for capital expenditure, N64.208bn for Transfer to Federal Government, and N7.5bn as Transfer to the Universal Service Provision Fund.

In a related development, the Senate on Wednesday also approved the sum of N11.594bn for the Universal Service Provision Fund for the 2020 fiscal year.

The approval came after consideration of the report of the Committee on Communications chaired by Senator Tinubu.

Out of the total amount approved, N2.354bn is for recurrent expenditure, N196.108bn for capital expenditure and N9.044bn for USPF projects and programmes.